Skip to content
Order Online, Pick up in Shop: Tuesday - Saturday 11am-4pm
Free Shipping on $100+ orders
Fiberside Chat with Beth Brown-Reinsel

Fiberside Chat with Beth Brown-Reinsel

beth brown-reinsel smiling face

European Knitting Traditions

From the Scottish Lowlands where the unique Sanquhar gloves developed, to Sweden, home of Tvåändsstickning (twined knitting), Norway (Selbu mittens and the Setesdal Lusekofter), and England (the gansey), Estonia (gloves the Troi, and mittens), and Latvian mittens, these countries (and more) have wonderful knitting traditions that can inspire us today, and teach us techniques that have faded from main stream knitting knowledge. Beth has examined 19th century garments in European museums for a better understanding of our knitting history. She will show slides of garments and details of construction methods that can be used today in our contemporary knitting and will be happy to answer questions. Beth will also do a demonstration of a cast-on, so bring some worsted weight yarn and US size 6 or 7 (4.0 or 4.5mm) needles if you'd like to play along.

Register Now!

Beth Brown-Reinsel has been teaching historic and traditional knitting workshops, nationally and internationally, for over thirty years. Her focus has been to bridge the gap from 19th century knitting, fashion, and culture to present-day practices, making a connection to women of older generations, their daily lives, and their handwork. She has traveled to over twenty countries (so far!) to research textiles, visiting museums to examine artifacts, gaining inspiration for the development of new knitting patterns and workshops. Her books, DVDs, and classes explore historic knitting techniques from many cultures, including the UK, Scandinavia, and the Baltic. Beth holds three knitting retreats each year in Vermont beyond her busy teaching schedule. Her work can be seen on her website (www.KnittingTraditions.com) and on her Patreon project (www.Patreon.com/BethBrownReinsel). 

 This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, April 25th at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific.

Previous article Shirley Paden- Fiberside Chat
Next article Jeane DeCoster and Brooke Sinnes- Fiberside Chat!