Skip to content
Order Online, Pick up in Shop: Tuesday - Saturday 11am-4pm
Free Shipping on $100+ orders
Fiberside Chat with Cecelia Campochiaro

Fiberside Chat with Cecelia Campochiaro

Join us as we explore both Sequence Knitting and Making Marls with author and creator, Cecelia Campochiaro. Sequence knitting is a mindful way to create richly textured and reversible fabric by repeating a sequence of stitches again and again. Making Marls is a way to do colorwork in knitting by holding strands together. Cecelia will go through the concepts and inspiration that led her to write her books. We’ll see many examples of pieces made with these techniques and a combination of both. This will be an hour of discovering textures and color that will expand your approach to creative knitting!
cecelia campochiaro fiberside chat

Cecelia Campochiaro appeared on the knitting scene in 2015 with her debut book, Sequence Knitting. She had an ah-ha moment in 2010 and realized that interesting textured fabrics could be created by the simple repetition of a sequence of stitches. This idea evolved and led to her writing Sequence Knitting, a reference book about this mindful approach to knitting.
Sequence Knitting is about texture, and her new book, Making Marls, is about color. Making marls, the act of working multiple strands together as one, is an old technique, but has never before been written about as an important technique in handknitting.

She lives in Silicon Valley, where for many years she developed specialized microscopes used in computer chip manufacturing. Textiles, photography and the arts have been a lifelong passion running in parallel with her technical life. Not only is she interested in the arts and knitting, but also in books. Books have been the primary mechanism for knowledge transfer for over a thousand years. One of her missions is to honor that tradition and create books that are both informative, and also beautiful objects in and of themselves. Makers love beautiful things, and Cecelia feels strongly that books should be as lovely as tools and yarns.

Today she is fully dedicated to the fiber world and “unventing” new ways to make amazing knit fabrics.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 28th at 2:00pm Eastern, 1:00pm Central, 12:00pm Mountain, 11:00am Pacific

Previous article Fiberside Chat with Jennifer Miller and Alissa Barton
Next article Fiberside Chat with Holli Yeoh