Skip to content
COVID-19 Store Hours: 12pm - 4pm without an appointment AND by private appointment
Come by 12pm - 4pm AND by appointment
Fiberside Chat with Stephen West

Fiberside Chat with Stephen West

Please join us for an anniversary encore! Unbelievably, as of May 24th it will be one year since Stephen’s last visit with us and the launch of Fiberside Chats! Stephen will share his latest designs and talk about his design process. He's been working on some big sweater and blanket projects, so you'll get to see all of his latest ideas. Stephen will share some color tips to achieve striking color palettes for your spring knitting projects. He will also have a Q&A and show examples of lots of sweaters and shawls, so wear your Westknits and enjoy this colorful and entertaining presentation! 

stephen west among flowers

Stephen was born and raised in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He studied dance at the University of Illinois, where he encountered his first local yarn store, Klose Knit in Urbana. The creative atmosphere of that local shop spurred Stephen to start designing patterns like the Boneyard Shawl and Daybreak. In 2010, he moved to Amsterdam, publishing more patterns and launching a series of pattern books under the name Westknits. He continues to produce pattern books and hosts several online knit-alongs each year. His simple, clean, architectural designs have now been knitted by thousands of knitters all around the world. He co-owns Stephen & Penelope, a yarn boutique in the city centre, together with Malia Mae Joseph. In 2019 Stephen and Malia realized a long-held dream by launching their first yarn brand, West Wool.

Register now for this is a one-time live Zoom Event on Saturday, May 22nd at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific.

Previous article Fiberside Chat with Cecilia Lalanne of Manos del Uruguay
Next article My Favorite PomPom maker.