Skip to content
COVID-19 Store Hours: 12pm - 4pm without an appointment AND by private appointment
Come by 12pm - 4pm AND by appointment
Mr Knitbear and Dendennis inspire Fiberside Chat

Mr Knitbear and Dendennis inspire Fiberside Chat

A message from Mr. Knitbear and Dendennis: 
Knitting socks has been popular for a while, but we were missing a certain style, something more humorous and cheerful, something unique. Not just socks with Fair Isle patterns. We wanted socks that we’d wear for evenings on the sofa at home but also socks for special occasions, business appointments, teaching in class and nights out on the town.
We rose to the challenge to design socks that will inspire others to start knitting too, and to show that you can create very cheerful and striking patterns with Fair Isle knitting, from flamingos to skulls and from avocados to geometric patterns.
In addition to showing our unique and fun socks, we will demonstrate how to knit a turned stitch, which you’ll need for the boomerang heel and how we knit with two colors in a row. Hopefully we’ll manage to inspire and motivate you to start on the great adventure of knitting socks!
Fiberside chat with Mr. Knitbear and Dendennis

Once there were two men…
Dennis, better known as Dendennis the crochet guy, was looking for people to test his crochet patterns. And Wim, another crochet enthusiast, took on the task. Not what Dennis had expected: a guy from Belgium who could test patterns well and who is extremely creative to boot. After years of testing and online contact, in 2018 there was a crocheting cruise in the south of the Netherlands. Wim and Dennis both went on the cruise and spent the entire day knitting and crocheting on a ship in the sun. A representative of Lang Yarns was also on this ship. The three of them
got talking — and the idea to do something together was born. Dennis immediately suggested making a knitting pattern book. The big problem was that Dennis didn’t know how to knit yet. But Wim did. This was actually the perfect opportunity for a book. If Wim could teach Dennis how to knit, he should be able to explain it to others as well. And that is how this great adventure began.
Berroco Yarns has generously provided a special Prize for us to give to one lucky participant who registers for this chat at Kid Ewe Knot! The prize includes a copy of their book and 2 50g balls of yarn, plus a cute project bag. Register now for the chat and to be entered to win!

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 14th at 3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00pm Pacific.

Previous article Fiberside Chat with Holli Yeoh
Next article Sarah Solomon Visits the Fiberside Chat!